Nikkor-Shootout: 1/3 of a stop of light for triple the price

6 thoughts on “Nikkor-Shootout: 1/3 of a stop of light for triple the price”

    1. I looked at the f-stop table for third stops and there are f/1.0 – f/1.1 – f/1.2 and f/1.4 listed. (same goes for the settings on the Aperture wheel on my camera)

      But at quarter stops, f/1.2 is again listed as half a stop between f/1.4 and f/1..

      That totally blows my title..
      I’ll measure the brightness today to check if it really is half a stop in case of the Nikkors.

      Well, I did measure the brightness and Nikon obviously also assumed that f/1.2 only needs to be 1/3 of a stop faster than f/1.4.

      Like

  1. I also have both and found a few other differences. the 1.4 has more lateral chromatic abberations which used to annoy me but with software is no big deal. The 1.2 lets in a lot more light so the 1.4 has much viginting till 2.8 or so. The bokeh of the 1.2 is best at 2. If you do the field shot at f2 you would see the difference. The 1.2 also seems to have more depth of field at 1.2 that the 1.4 at 1.4. I believe this is due to some spherical abberations which although softening the image overall actually improve the DOF. There are also field curvature differences but I haven’t tested those in depth. My 1.2 is also noticeably sharper at f2 than the F1.4. Now I do have a new 1.2 (manufactured 2009) and an old 1.4 (1984) so that may account for the differences. Now I don’t know why but on Flickr the group for the 1.4 is dead and has been for years while the 1.2 group is buzzing with activity so there must be something to it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

