Removing the color cast in radioactive lenses – Results

5 thoughts on “Removing the color cast in radioactive lenses – Results”

  1. Hi,
    I have use an Ikéa lamp, 1 week, to get 1.2 IL back of a Canon 55mm/f1.2 SSC Aspherial.
    It’s easy and do not heat the lens.

    I think we must remove the yellow darkening, because it is uneven, and may result in extra COMA. I explain:
    1 A divergence lens is thick on the border, these borders will be darker that the thin center, so transmission of light is highly modified.
    2. A symmetric convergence lens will have in the conratry a thick center, so a strong dark center. Tis is even worse because light is reduced in the center of the light path.

    If we take a planar design e.g., we both type 1 and 2 lenses, so transmission of light is really strongly disturbed, and it may I think introduce extra coma for instance, or other aberrations.

    In my case, the aspherical lens and the floating lens may work better. I notice very strong coma on some night fotos.

    Cleaning is recommanded.

    Bernard

    Like

    1. Thank you for your input.
      Glad the Ikea lamp worked for you too 🙂

      I didn’t test the radioactive lenses much after these initial tests, but I did notice/measure a significant amount of reduction in light transmission due to the yellowing, so I do agree that it’s necessary to remove these colour casts.

      Cheers

      Like

  2. I read up on the ‘UV’ treatment for these lenses having just bought an Asahi 50mm 1.4 SMC which I was initially shocked by the degree of yellowing.

    In looking for UV sources, I found out that white-light fluorescent tubes leak UV, especially at the bends. I have an old Philips ‘Stick 12yr 20W’ bulb which has 3 u shaped elements.

    I put it in a 40W desk lamp, covered and extended the reflector with foil and used Old Skeeter’s idea of the mirror under the objective. and made a simple foil heatshield/reflector for the lens body.

    STRESSES that none of the foil was in contact with the electrics, just with the metal lampshade. I fitted the heatshield to the lens, set it on the mirror, and brought the desk lamp over – probably 3″ from the innermost lens element. This left about a 1/4″ gap between my foil shade and the heatshield for circulation.

    Good news is that there was no heating at all from the fluorescent bulb, so no risk of lubricant creep, so I was confident to leave the light on overnight.

    Being an impatient sort, I thought I’d try the lens when I got up. This meant about 18hrs of a soak had been run.

    Results super. Absolutely clear – blue skies, white roses, green leaves in perfect focus and hue, and if anything, rendered a little blue in low light?

    Don’t see the exact bulb, but plenty of very similar units available on Amazon for under a fiver. If you want that classic ‘Tak yellow filter’ look any more, you’ll have to buy a yellow filter!!

    Like

Leave a comment