Getting back into Film Leica boss!

7 thoughts on “Getting back into Film Leica boss!”

  1. I agree with you on the Leica R8 and R9 — big, heavy, and ugly. I sold mine after a relatively short while and went back to the Leica M family.

    Congrats on your new toy; I’m looking forward to seeing images from it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You have assembled a very versatile outfit, a 28, 50, 90, and 135. The first 3 are described as the “photojournalists trinity ” for obvious reasons. I find the 135mm f2.8 very useful for picking interesting faces out of a crowd. Although a zoom lens covering all these focal lengths is available in many makes, zoom lenses are still slow, typically f3.5-4.5. In poor light the pair of f2 might mean the chance of getting a shot where a slower lens would cause camera shake. I use a Leicaflex SL with Schneider Kreuznach P A Curtagon 35mm f4 shift lens for street and architectural shots and a 135mm f2.8 Elmarit R (Canada) for portraiture.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I shoot a Leicaflex Standard Mk2 with a 50mm Summicron-R and a 90mm Elmarit-R (both Mk1). What you lose in terms of lens interoperability, you gain in absolute build quality. The Leicaflex line (Standard, SL, and SL2) were handbuilt brass monsters where cost of building were completely thrown out the window in favor of absolute quality. Sadly, the Standard’s “behind the times” design meant the excellent SL and SL2 were relegated as “expensive toys” that made Leica a loss on each one sold. (Between that, the retracting of the excellent CL due to “M-line cannibalization, and the failure of the M5… it becomes clear why Leica R3-R7 were Minolta designs)

    I’ve fallen a bit for the electronic Minolta-era R’s myself, and I’m looking at either an R5 or an R7. What I love about your review is that it’s a realistic review; it doesn’t read of snootiness or holier-than-thou in its mindset, and accepts the realities of the R-line. Keep shooting with it, I would love to see more of your shots and how it feels as an everyday shooter!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Well Jason. The R8 & R9 simply do not have any manual speed that’s independently operated in case of battery failures. The R3/4/5/E/7 all have a 100 setting that would keep you going. Indeed a friend of mine has an old R4 that only works on this 100 setting. He uses Kodak Ektar 100 and Ilford FP4 125 iso and simply estimated the aperture according to the light with his 50mm f2 Summicron R. This is why I wouldn’t consider the R8/9 as if the microelectronics packed up, you have a nice paperweight.
    Now I’ve seen them here in the U.K. for as low as £399 but even with 6 months warranty, I’m not tempted. Your Leicaflex will still be working in 10-20 +years time.
    Also the R8/9 take a strange battery too. And it’s expensive.

    I’ve got four Leicaflex SL bodies (1 black) and the black one and one chrome one have a working meter. However the correct battery is not available and the substitute gives wrong readings. So I prefer to use a Gossen Lunalite (I have 2) as it’s LED solid state and takes a PP3 9v battery that I’ve seen on sale in lots of overseas countries. However I take a spare.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment