Only good for portraits? – Summicron-R 90mm f/2

7 thoughts on “Only good for portraits? – Summicron-R 90mm f/2”

    1. Not sure what you mean?
      The 50mm isn’t much heavier than other full metal 50mm lenses I own, some are actually heavier. I don’t have any comparison to the 90mm summicron, except maybe the Contax 85mm f/1.4, which is actually a tad heavier and doesn’t have the hood built in.
      The 135/2.8 is a very heavy lens, granted. The Zeiss Sonnar 135/2.8 is only 585g (and the Leitz is 730g) and there are a lot of rather fast full frame 135mm lenses that weigh even less.

      However, and that’s a very important point for me, the Leitz lenses are built to a higher standard than any other lens I’ve ever held in my hands.

      Lastly, my camera is a Canon 1Ds mk III which on it’s own already weighs in at 1’404g, so I guess I’m used to photography being a workout too. 😀

      Like

  1. I don’t think lens resolution tests can capture the superb image quality this lens is capable of making. For many years I shot the poor cousin version of the Summicron, the R 90 2,8 Elmarit. The Elmarit is sharper and a great lens, but recently I was able to buy a beater R 90 Summicron at an affordable price, and wow, what a lens! It is the best portrait lens I will ever own, and stopped down has that classic Leica look to the photos. Build wise, it is something for NASA to aspire to. Rock solid in every way, and it feels like a solid hunk of glass and metal in your hand, which is essentially what it is. A lot of people shoot this lens on DSLRs, but that sort of dumbs down the capabilities. I shot two rolls of color negative film with it, and the color saturation was very impressive. I can only imagine what slide film would produce.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Steve Marino. Thanks for your post, I’ve got the f2.8 90 but have been considering buying this f2 as I’ve seen one on a dealer’s website and have been seriously considering moving into portraiture next year. Will make a change from environmental and street.

    Mitch Zeissler. I thoroughly agree regarding weight. The 135mm f2.8 Elmarit R surprised me when I got it four years ago. It’s got a large lump of glass in it, same as the M version. The 180mm f2.8 R and 250mm f4 R are extremely heavy lenses and both have tripod mount. However, a Leicaflex SL body and 250mm f4 would easily kill a prospective mugger. However as I use both lenses for cricket matches on village greens, (I’m in the U.K.) it seems unlikely that I’d be attacked.

    Yet, I derive so much pleasure from my four SL bodies (1 black) and my collection of lenses: 28/35/50/90/135/180/250mm and a 75-200mm zoom lens. The build quality is amazingly good, real quality that surely is not made today except by Rolex/ Omega and Mercedes Benz (I have these watches/cars).

    Prices for these lenses are rising for digital Johnny’s to use on their Japanese cameras.
    I got busy and bought when I could. I’ve got a very generous young boyfriend who
    “understands”.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment